SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 8–SENATORS RAGGIO, TITUS, AMODEI, CARE, CARLTON, COFFIN, JACOBSEN, JAMES, MATHEWS, MCGINNESS, NEAL, O'CONNELL, O'DONNELL, PORTER, RAWSON, RHOADS, SCHNEIDER, SHAFFER, TOWNSEND, WASHINGTON AND WIENER

APRIL 2, 2001

D 1 1 1 1 .

Read and Adopted

SUMMARY—Inducts Henry A. Comins into Senate Hall of Fame. (BDR R-1339)

 \sim

SENATE RESOLUTION—Inducting Henry A. Comins into the Senate Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, The Senate of the Legislature of the State of Nevada has established a Senate Hall of Fame whose members are selected by leadership from those past Senators who have served with distinction and who have made exemplary contributions to the State of Nevada; and

WHEREAS, A dedicated legislator who served longer than any other nineteenth century legislator, Henry A. Comins represented the residents of White Pine County for 18 years, traveling the considerable distance between Ely and Carson City to serve as an Assemblyman in 1875 and 1876 and as a Senator from 1877 through 1880 and from 1889 through 1900, leading the Senate as President pro Tempore for the 1891 regular session; and

WHEREAS, Even though his party did not control the Senate in 1877, Senator Comins was named chairman of the Senate Committee on Ways and Means that year, his first term as a Senator, and served with distinction on that committee during his entire Senate career, chairing it four additional times; and

WHEREAS, A key legislator for the women's suffrage movement in Nevada, in 1895 Senator Comins sponsored the first bill for a constitutional amendment that would have given women the right to vote, a measure which was approved by both legislative houses that session but failed to receive the required second legislative approval 2 years later; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, That Henry A. Comins, an influential legislative leader in the nineteenth century who helped shape the financial and tax policy of this state, is hereby inducted into the Senate Hall of Fame of the Legislature of the State of Nevada.